Short Explanation of Why I Can't Publish My Site 📝

Here’s a short explanation of why I can’t publish the candler blog right now.

The site runs on Octopress, which I had been building at my web host. The host went under and transferred everything to another company, at which point everything was fine for awhile (months? years?) until it wasn’t.

For over a year I haven’t been able to build the site, not even locally. Octopress relies on too many outdated dependencies, and even trying to transition it to vanilla Jekyll on a modern Mac is full of challenges.

When I made the jump to Octopress [gulp] a decade ago, transitioning to it from Wordpress was well-documented; tons of folks doing the same thing had published blog posts about their experience. I’m finding far less guidance these days for how to move to, say, Hugo, or back to Wordpress. This lack that I feel…that’s why I want to publish my site again.

I don’t know my next steps, and I don’t know if Micro.blog fits into that plan. But it feels good to put a few words out into the world.

Jonathan Poritsky @poritsky